Capital adventures

By marchmont

Tea, waterfalls, a church and a dam

Did not sleep, combination of 3 lots of v spicy curries and an uncomfortable bed, though probably more comfortable than John, who sleeps in his car. No hot water, but bread omelette for breakfast but stupidly asked for tea with milk (I've had it before). That resulted in, a cup of hot milk, a cup of milk with tea powder in it and eventually coffee. But they have googled it for tomorrow!

There was much tea as we headed through the winding hills and valleys to Munnar. It was a strike day in Kerala today, singing to do with politics and the upcoming election so everything was shut. Visited the tea museum, factory and took photos. It was pretty overcast, though not cold. The flower place was next. Much taking of photographs and selfies by the Indian visitors. Next we went to the CSI church, one of the oldest in the area and built in the Scottish style with stained glass and fittings from Scotland. 

Lunch in a hotel with a view of the gardens and more tea. I dine alone now. Really to fill time I agreed to go on the jeep safari. On the way we stopped to look at the tea picking. I saw the tea harvesting process back in 2011 in the Cameron Highlands.

The safari was better than I expected, and quicker but not worth the 40000 rup (it's per jeep and I was on my own) but it did fill time and I saw waterfall (senior dis, 15p entrance!), the suspension, dam and lovely views over the hills but too early for a sunset. My driver was obsessed with taking photos of me, as is John. I don't do a lot of selfies.

Back in hotel for 5 so did a few personal things and checked my emails and WA..Dinner tonight was beef curry, parotta and beer. I skipped the ice cream. I'd had at lunchtime.

Despite not having dinner much I was still tired. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.