Capital adventures

By marchmont

Kalari

One of the joys of this trip is trying to communicate with John. He speaks English like I speak French - know some stock phrases and constructions, use them as improvised workarounds when I don't know the words, nod and agree or ignore when I don't understand, have the words. And of course I have no Malayalam. Makes for some interesting non conversation and non communication.

Today off SE to Thakkady, 85 kms that took a couple of hours with a couple of photo op stops. Still up down through lush vegetation, cardamom, coffee, the Cardamom Hills. And still cool. It started off sunny but soon changed to overcast cloud.

Once in Thakkady there was shopping. I should have insisted on just being dropped to browse the main street (strike over, shops open) but if course I was taken to a specific Kashmiri owned craft, souvenir shop. We know how this works. I did buy of course, ear rings - my go to for souvenirs, a ring, a bracelet (when will I wear?) and, at my request, a skirt. I bought trousers in Singapore when I couldn't find a skirt. It needed shortened so we had to return later - more Kashmiri tea and more hard sell about a necklace. 

As I'd taken so long it was a very quick lunch. No spice, semi toasted cheese sandwich (sweet bread) and chips (no salt). 

The excursion today was Periyar tiger reserve. Very well organised. A bus to the reserve then a 90 minute boat trip, allocated seats on the lake. Didn't see much wildlife: bison, monkeys, deer and definitely no tigers but the cool, fresh breeze was lovely, especially as it's back to the heat tomorrow. ,It felt a lot like what I imagine a sail on Loch Lomond to be. 

Skirt collected to the hotel, on the main street. Feels like the first 'real' hotel I've been in, other guests. After this morning's cold shower no hot water) I was dismayed to find a similar situation here but luckily it did arrive later.

Couple of hours r & r replacing the gold manicure and the the Kalari (traditional male martial arts). The finale involving fire was pretty spectacular. It was raining when it ended so no walk down the main street. Back to the room for some more Val and then dinner downstairs. This is a dry hotel but there was fruit salad and ice cream!

And it's so cool I don't need the AC or the fan!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.