Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Two Robins and a Tailless Squirrel

I glanced up a moment ago and darkness has fallen.  Where did the day go to?  I didn't sleep very well last night and retired to the upstairs bedroom to switch on the Sleeping Forecast and read a couple of chapters of my latest Kate Atkinson.  So when the alarm went off at 7.30 I really didn't feel like getting up and joining Anne and Angela on their C25k week 9 run.  However, once I was upright I felt ready to go and was glad I did.  We did a circuit in St Ives and then filled in the time with various loops around the centre of the village.  

Back home I made my breakfast porridge and completed Hobblwordl, Rainbow and Connections over my mid morning coffee before catching up with some computer based jobs and suddenly Tony was back from his run and it was lunchtime.

After lunch we spent a short while watching the many birds on the feeders before heading out to the garden centre.  A female bullfinch has visited in the last couple of days.  I think they mate for life so I am wondering where the male is, perhaps she hasn't found one yet.  Tony spotted a squirrel with only a furry stump for a tail!  It didn't appear to hinder it moving around the tree until it was startled by a jackdaw landing close by and fell out of the tree into our neighbour's bush.  We don't know whether it is a new squirrel which has never had a tail, or a regular that has met with an accident.

We picked up some cyclamen plants at the garden centre to give the large pot at the front of the house a bit of winter colour.  We also bought another squirrel feeder to try and divert the squirrels away from the feeders.  Tony set about planting the flowers back at home and discovered a whole collection of peanuts in the big pot.  I took my long lens out in to the garden and watched the antics of the thin robin and the round robin as they chased each other around the tree.  Blip secured!

The fire is lit, veg prepared and I have a bit of time before Pilates.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.