Come into the Garden

By aprecious

On Hurdling

Good afternoon - do you know, I am a dog of many parts?
(Not my lady parts which I am apparently not supposed to talk about in polite company.) What I mean is, I have a lot of hobbies. Sticks, balls (still my real and undying love), frisbees, soft toys, water and - my latest craze - jumping.
I especially like jumping. Jumping can also be called hurdling.
aprecious says am I the sort of character that takes up a hobby and buys all the equipment for it then leaves it the shed to ruin? Because apparently there's not much room what with her Reebok step, her mountain bike, her golf clubs, her ski clobber, and so on...
But I assure that is not the case. My hobbies are much more organic and don't need much equipment. Like hurdling. You can hurdle almost anywhere. Anywhere there is something to hurdle over. Yesterday - I hurdled over the sink into the back conservatory. It was ace! I flew threw the air...the sink the kitchen (to the room next door).*
I might hurdle the back gate next. And maybe, just maybe the gate to the unmade road...

What's that?

You don't want me to hurdle?

You'd prefer it if I returned to the relatively safe pursuit of balls and sticks?

Why?

What's the big deal? Hurdling rocks.

*This may not seem that impressive, but it was. She was in the kitchen, and the hoovering was happening in the back room and she hurdled the sink, the shelf behind the sink, through the (internal) kitchen window, onto Doris' bosom (a chest given to us by someone called Doris) and she then proceeded to kill the hoover! It was pretty unbelievable - she hurdled about 3/4ft up and 4ft across! In one go! She sure hates that vacuum cleaner! Maud is actually a pretty small dog really so this is no mean feat!

I chose this shot today because I think it was the best composition, and I just love her face on it... she just looks so happy. Here are some other shots that might have been hiding and funny ears.

I also took these and had a bit of a play land of my fore-fathers (1) and land of my fore-fathers (2) - this could easily have been called God's Own Country. Oh, I can see the attraction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.