Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Boys Club

Most birders dislike these handsome birds; I think they are very striking and accept that they do what they do.  Which is that they are "brood parasites", laying their eggs (one per nest) in the nests of smaller songbirds, leaving the host pair to raise their larger nestling, often to the detriment of the host species own young.  There are several cowbirds species in N. America and all are brood parasites, like the cuckoos of Europe.  These are two male Brown-headed Cowbirds, having a quick visit to my feeding station.  They are the only cowbirds species found in the northeastern US.

Jax is at daycare today so I've taken advantage of a dog free day to get a bunch of things done around the house and to spend some uninterrupted time out in my hide.  Hubs had a root canal this morning so I've definitely had a more enjoyable day than him.  

I've been working on cleaning up the hard drive on my Mac, a laborious project that I am not enjoying.  I've moved images off the internal drive to an external drive and now waiting for Carbonite to back up.  I wanted to get this all done before I go to Africa.  Need to clean up my SSD external drive too.  As I get older, I find that I am not as quick with technology as I used to be, which is frustrating.  

Hubs and I watched Jules last night which was a sweet story involving an alien.  For something light and "feel good", I recommend it.  In a complete reversal, we then watched the Republican debate.  To be honest, I only managed to get through about 20 minutes of it but Hubs bravely watched the whole thing.  

Plain dark today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.