carliewired

By carliewired

58 F/ 14 C

I woke to sunshine
and blue skies, once again so
this day looks hopeful

~carliewired

I was up just after 8 with sunshine pouring into the house. I was soon out the door and on my way to the annual Desert Lily Quilt Show. My car told me it was a mere 6 C/ 42 F. 

The show has always been one of the highlights of my winter stay in Yuma. This group is so prolific and their show mirrors all the talents and energy they can muster. 

I start at their "Country Store" so I can purchase something quilty for my quilting friend in New Zealand. Her birthday is mid February so the timing is good to get her parcel in the mail to her on time. 

Besides the amazing quilts on display, the show draws venders from all over, including out of state. Quilt stores, sewing machine sellers, pattern makers, etc, are here to get the attention of quilters. 

The show featured a quilt block collection from all over the USA. 

A quilt block challenge for its members required each quilter to use the same printed fabric to produce their own quilt block. 

Some members of the group participated in a Mystery Quilt project. Over several months, each member received a set of instructions each month  for cutting, sewing and block construction. At the end, the setting layout was provided. The result was a collection of lovely quilts from the same pattern, yet unique to the quilter in colour selection. 

I bumped into some quilters I know and had a bit of a chat before moving on. When my feet gave out, it was time to find my car in the parking lot to head home again. I come home feeling inspired once again.

I'm in for the day with my cranky feet up in my recliner. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.