Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Gothic

My Saturday excursion took me to Guiseley. 

This impressive Padgett family memorial dominates the graveyard of St Oswald’s, and is a stand-alone grade 2 listed building: “Tomb chest to Joseph Cawkwell Padgett d. 1889. Sandstone and polished granite. Gothic style  with open sides of pointed arches on colonnetes, protecting a pitched lid within.”

The bulbs in the churchyard were peeping through, but no signs of snowdrops in flower yet. 

As usual, I was on the lookout for interesting signage, and found a couple of examples of the old Leeds City Council logo on school grounds (extra). I think this is quite a famous logo in graphic design circles but I can’t find anything about it for the moment. No trespassing signs always make me think of Piglet’s house.

At the football, Guiseley were hosting Bamber Bridge in a Northern Premier League fixture, the second time that I’d seen the visitors in recent weeks following their 3-0 win in miserable conditions at Bradford (Park Avenue) just before Christmas. Guiseley were very strong in the first half, but just had the one goal to show for it. As is often the way the second half was more balanced, but Guiseley got a second just before the end for a 2-0 win which lifts them back into the play-off off spots.

And apparently 25 years ago on this day I was watching Mercury Rev at Newcastle Mayfair, on what will have been the Deserter’s Songs album tour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.