Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Sprouts

The last Saturday before Christmas saw Bradford (Park Avenue) hosting Bamber Bridge in a Northern Premier League fixture.  Strong wind and horizontal rain made for poor playing conditions, even on a 4G pitch, and the stand offered little more protection for the spectators.

Avenue had appointed a new manager in mid week as the threat of a second consecutive relegation became apparent even at this mid-point in the season.  A fairly even first half ended 0-0, but Bamber made the most of the following wind in the second period to secure a 0-3 win.

On the way back I stopped off in town for a final round of Christmas shopping. It seems I need to resign myself to another Christmas dinner without sprouts. I drew the line at spending £2.50 on a microwaveable (!) mini pack of baby sprouts in M&S , which were the only variant I could find anywhere. Bah! Humbug!  Of course, such pecuniary considerations were not a factor when I got distracted by the HMV sale  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.