There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Fire & Ice: Sunset from the Red Planet's Ice Caves

I have just told you a lie, but I liked the sound of it, so it is what it is, but I apologize. This is actually NOT a photograph of the ice caves on Mars, as I have not been there lately to see those.*

It is actually Christmas lights, as viewed through the ice that came out of the water bowl we keep on the front porch for LGK, the neighbor cat. I have a set of tiny Christmas trees with batteries; they change color as you watch. That's what I used to make these colors.

I had the ice from the water bowl and it was a big chunk, with one sharp and sparkly part. I put the ice chunk on the bathroom sink, sat the Christmas tree to the left of it, turned on the Christmas tree, turned off the overhead lights, and began snapping pictures in the dark. 

If you catch it at just the right moment, you can capture TWO colors, as the shades begin to change. So that's what you're looking at!!! The red seemed almost the color of blood.

I've got two soundtrack songs, one for the photo, one for the lie. First, here's Pat Benatar with Fire and ice. Second, here are the Eurythmics, with Would I Lie To You (a song I did aerobics to in the 1980s twice a week at the State College VFW, next to the laundromat where I met my husband in August 1986).

P.S. This is my second posting of frozen water bowl pictures. "Love Is a Rose" from mid-December was the first time I tried this, when I featured a dried rose inside the icy shell of the frozen cat water bowl.

*Added later: My husband said I should tell you I sent Supergirl to Mars with my camera to get this shot for me! (That's another lie but I like it!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.