There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Crystal Ball / Love Is A Rose

A tale of frozen bubbles, experimentation, and forgiveness . . .

Temperatures were around 25 to 27 degrees F when I went out into the still, sunny morning to blow my bubbles. My Karo corn syrup has turned, so the bubble mix smells funny now. I must buy more the next time we get to the grocery store. I think the current bottle is the only one I've ever owned my whole adult life! That Karo corn syrup is well beyond old enough to vote!

I had some implements and some ideas. My implements included a foxtail, some red berries, and a large leaf. My ideas included blowing bubbles onto some berry trees into our yard. I wanted it to look like the berries and light were INSIDE the bubbles. Above is one of my bubbles-on-the-berry-bush shots that turned out well. It posed some challenges.

My first major lesson, learned after I came away with stinky and sticky bubble mix on my coat, my gloves, and my sunglasses, is that perhaps a wise person would use a step stool to access such berries to make them into art. If you try to blow bubbles onto a target above your head, you're in for a MESS!!

When I came back indoors after my efforts, I was in the bathroom washing everything off. My husband came in and presented me with the ice shell from the water bowl we keep for LGK (the neighbor kitty) on the front porch, and added to it a small Christmas tree that turns various colors of light. He seemed pleased as he presented both items to me.

This was a love offering. A gift of fire and ice. We'd had words the day before, and the ice was an offering which I accepted, forgave, and moved on. As one does on occasion, in married life. So the photos that resulted from there on were a sort of forgiveness collaboration.

I placed some red berries inside the ice shell and the Christmas tree with it, and took a bunch of shots. Then I decided to add a dried rose. The rose was inside the icy shell, with the tiny Christmas tree lit with white light behind it. The shot may be viewed in the extras. This picture is called Love Is A Rose, for obvious AND non-obvious reasons!

My soundtrack songs are Styx, with Crystal Ball, and Linda Ronstadt, with Love Is A Rose.

P.S. A link to my canonical frozen bubble tips can be found here.

P.P.S. Forgiveness is ALWAYS better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.