KathyH58

By KathyH58

More ice

This morning I decided to go to Halifax and stop at Sir Sandford Fleming Park and Point Pleasant Park. I wanted to see if there were any interesting birds around both parks. Lots of mallards and black ducks. I did see a common loon and some common mergansers at SSFP. At Point Pleasant I saw some common eiders(too far away for a good photo), more common mergansers, a cormorant and a greater scaup.

I walked the trail along the harbour at SSFP, I knew there was a brook there and that it would have some ice formations. I took so many different photos, it was hard to decide which one to use.

The usual visitors were at my feeder today, the pine warblers, the northern flicker, both male and female downy woodpecker, chickadees, goldfinches, blue jays, only one morning dove. I am hoping that the others have moved on due to the reduced food available.

The temperature stayed below freezing again today, but without the wind it felt good to be outside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.