Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Learning Dutch

If you follow my journal you might remember that I support a Scottish third sector organisation called the Mamie Martin Fund.  Last year I walked round 30 reservoirs to raise awareness of MMF's work. I wore my MMF t-shirt each time. This year the charity is 31 and the challenge is to do 31 things. I've chosen to learn 31 words in Dutch. 

Why Dutch? +31 is the international dialling code for the Netherlands. There's one link. My niece and two great nephews who stay in Maastricht are helping my pronunciation. There's another link. I've tried to learn some Dutch in the past. I found it tricky. Maybe 2024 is the year. 

My first word is the Dutch for education. When I was trying it out this morning prior to making the video which will be uploaded to the MMF website (cringe) I asked my grandson to give it a go. His pronunciation was excellent. Must be his Polish heritage :-)

Next time I'm going to choose an easier word. But for #1  education seemed most appropriate. 

It was a wild night and I didn't sleep. However we seem to be in one piece and I hope you are too. 

Tot Ziens! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.