The second half of life..

By twigs

Betty Begonia

Many years ago I would ask mum to look after some of my house plants from time to time.  I remember her calling my begonia Betty, as in 'Betty Begonia'.  She also called my rubber plant Lucy, as in Lucy Lastic.  I loved Mum's humour.  

A few years ago (maybe 10 haha) I planted a tuberous begonia in the old sink I have in the garden.  Odd.......yes.  When I had the back end of my house rebuilt the old bathroom sink was too characterful to throw out so I attached it to the fence where it eventually became a perfect place for a tuberous begonia who of course, was named Betty.  I do very little for Betty - water her occasionally but usually it's up to her to get herself through the seasons.  The other greenery in there is self-planted but everything seems to play nicely together so they get to stay.

I noticed Betty was flowering a few days ago and tucked her away for a blip.  Didn't think I'd be using her quite so soon but I'm exhausted tonight after an early start, 2 topcoats for the windows, lawns and edges done this afternoon and a supermarket shop.  Australian Open men's final starts in just 15 minutes and I'm falling asleep already.  Might have to have a cuppa to keep me awake - Jannik Sinner v Dannil Medvedev - should be a rugged game.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.