analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Remembering.

Today would have been my Mom's 103rd birthday.  To mark the occasion, I scanned a slide image taken by my Dad somewhere between 1946 and 1949, the years before my eldest brother came along.  The camera, indubitably his 1939 Leica II  - and Dad's eye - has caught her posing beautifully in a field of daisies by the ocean.  In late August and early September, spring in South Africa, the area north of Cape Town is carpeted with wild flowers which burst into bloom overnight.
The slide is very degraded: the emulsion damaged, and the colors have shifted.  The best choice was to make the image mono, and spend the day cleaning it pixel by pixel.  An infrared pass during the scanning removes a lot of artifact, and the AI scan fills in missing information. It's such a wonderful image that I thought it worth the effort.  Cousin Crispin 25 and I have done another coordinated  Blip effort:  he went delving into his collection of old family photographs and found this treasure.  Here is my Mom with her eldest sister, his mother - on the left -, a few years later by the look of it, most likely also taken by my Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.