analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Il Maestro. Lumix M4/3 20mm

I had an out-of-city adventure today.  In my lumber stash, I had a big slab of walnut and another of cherry, left over from making bridges for the harpsichords.  With the blanket chest project looming, the thought of sawing up a 6 foot length of walnut by hand seemed daunting.  So I spoke to a friend and fellow instrument maker who lives in Nashua, New Hampshire.  He makes guitars, and has a well-equipped wood shop in his basement.  We arranged that I would bring my lumber up, he would make a nice lunch, we would saw up the lumber, and we would have a visit to chew the fat.  I took a camera along, hoping for some Blip material, and a very decent bottle of South African wine as a "thank you". I got a short recital on several of his instruments.  Here is one made of mahogany with a Spanish cedar soundboard and bone trimmings.  There is another, recently finished, with the soundboard made of Italian spruce which I gave him last year.  A. does excellent work. 
As an Extra, I'll add a view of him resawing my slab of cherry on the big Laguna band saw.  A 100-mile round trip, a delightful day, and my lumber is ready to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.