CrocusMan

By TonyG

Grumpy

Sums me up today!   Having slept crooked, I awoke with back ache and have felt like I got out of the wrong side of the bed all day.   Extra pic popped up on my feed tonight ... can FB tell my feelings now too?!! :-)

It's been a messy, bitty day with almost constant interruptions of various kinds.  Timmy cat is poorly in Birmingham, Ruth's bathroom sink and bath are not draining, the builder came back to do work around the new door, the electrician ditto after Ruth pointed out a potentially serious problem.  So I've been on the phone, more than once, to vets, plumbers, builders and Ruth, who needed lots of reassurance.    

Today Jamie journeyed from Sussex to Hull by train in his power chair for his pre-op assessment.   He's now travelled back for a night in Birmingham with Ruth before coming home in the morning.   What an adventure!   Livened up by calls to me from passenger assistance as the return platform at the station nearest the hospital was not accessible to wheelchairs.  They couldn't find a suitable taxi to take him to the nearest accessible station ... but thankfully I could after only one refusal.

So it's been that sort of day.  I did get a few admin jobs done but my concentration is not the best at any time and today's distractions only exacerbated the problem.   It was also a relentlessly grey and wet day which didn't help.  The cyclamen in my porch have provided winter colour for months.  These are all Cyclamen persicum, the species bred into various strains for the horticultural trade.  This particular one is close to the true species, if not actually that.   The flowers are less blousy, a little slimmer, a little fewer and held higher.  I prefer these but all are pretty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.