paperTIGER

By papertiger

Wonderlands.

Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.

-- Pablo Picasso


Today I went for a wonder with my friend to a cafe for some breakfast and then the heavens opened as we walked back to the DCA (Dundee Contemporary Arts). By the time we got there, I was totally drenched but I've been wanting to visit the Johanna Basford Wonderlands exhibition for a while, and being soggy wasn't going to stop me.

And it was a real treat!

It is a stunning exhibition which opens with a gallery space filled with a number of tree illustrations on canvas, suspended from the ceiling, which grow in size as you wind your way through the forest. There are also two gorgeous prints entitled Heartbreak - one white and one black - which are dusted with diamond crystals.

In a room off a corner of the larger gallery, Basford has replicated her studio, showing her work space, products, publications, sketches and desk paraphernalia, including a small mug of a girl in a purple dress, now used for holding pens. My friend and I noticed it at pretty much the same time, recognising it from our own childhoods. The girl on Rachel's mug wore a yellow dress, but mine was the exact same as the one on display, save for my own name at the bottom. It was really odd to have such a moment of connection with part of the exhibit. {Little 1980's me would always have boiled eggs out of my mug when I was poorly.}

The second gallery space was full of some incredible pieces, one of which (not pictured) was a large monochrome illustration incorporating 152 images requested by members of the general public who 'backed' Basford on her kickstarter campaign. These backers, or co-creators as they are credited, not only see their requested beastie in the Wonderbeasts print, but they also receive a personalised reward. If only I'd known, I would have joined in the fun!

It truly is an beautiful exhibition, and it runs until July 7th. If you haven't seen it yet, go!

This blip is definitely best viewed large!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.