Lichfield opium

The poppy field on the outskirts of Lichfield is looking magnificent. More of the red flowers are now dominating the rapeseed crop and it's getting more dramatic by the day. Any Staffordshire blippers please note - this is worth a special trip.

On my way home from the pool this morning, the sun caught the red and I knew I had to return. I found a new parking spot that seems quite safe. On the roundabout itself (the new one on the Lichfield/Brownhills road) there is a pull in which is also wide enough to turn round. Perfect to stop for the quick snap.

On the other side of the road there were men at work
Are E-on trying out something new for energy ?

Back at home, there was trouble this morning.
I mentioned a young blackbird who was being feisty the other morning and Gen2 was really helpful about what was going on. That bird, however, had not fully taken account of naughty Blue, the nine month old "kitten" from next door. In spite of having quite a loud bell, Blue managed to extract a couple of tail feathers out of the young bird. I saw them lying on the lawn. Later, there was more commotion and I opened the back door and told Blue to go home. Just by the door, the little blackbird was watching (thankfully?). And a little later, Cyd got in on the act.
Blue was hiding under the neighbour's car, watching the gate into my garden.
Cyd was on the case guarding the gate and looking quite adorable and determined, under the blue shrub
The drama continues - but there is no sign of the bird.

On any other day these other shots might have been my Blip
Take off - jay style
The patterned wings of the Common Blue

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.