Capital adventures

By marchmont

New Year's Eve

The Year of the Dragon.

Went across to HK to discover WH was off and that she and the girls were off to do some things with Wen Xin (bank etc).  #1 son was gardening in the balcony so I snuck the broken frame out and eventually headed to Plaza Damas to get it fixed and my picture framed.  The Grabs were really expensive, even more so in the way back, double.  Time of day, nearly lunchtime and the holidays.  RM43, £7.10 for two trips and it's just over a km, as the crow flies a straight line. It would take 35 minutes to walk though as there are two highways in between.  And it was hot today - 35 at one point feeling like 40.  The embroidery was also very expensive, but I've never used the place before, but closer than TTDI. The Grab driver on the way back knew about Edinburgh, watched darts, supported Liverpool, and as they all are, was fascinated about how cold it was in Scotland and snow. 

Back I had lunch then went to the pool with Val McDermid.  It was hot and sunny.  Did the usual - moving between the water and the sunlounger.  It got really windy after 4 and looked like a storm, which never transpired but I left and went to Jaya. 

Changed for tonight's second Reunion Dinner.  They'd left by the time I got to Block B so I had to use the service lift for Block C.  #2 son came too so there were 10 of us.  We had Yee Sang (healthy version), rice, noodles, fish, veg, pork and huge prawns then a Kit Kat mini ice after. There was also a lot of beer.  I had 3 Heineken!

The Ang Pow was distributed (I gave 6 red envelopes) then played card games, hilarious, and there were a few fireworks at 9.30.  Once home I started to watch the Netflix version of 'One Day' mainly for the views from Arthur's Seat!  There were more fireworks and firecrackers all over the town until after midnight but nothing from Souled Out. 

Another day, another year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.