Capital adventures

By marchmont

Year of the Dragon - Gong Xi Fa Cai!

I am a dragon, very suspicious. There were some fireworks after midnight, but not too many. I slept really badly. Self inflicted. But I did start the day, after watching sunrise with a restorative swim. 

We went 'first footing' this morning, first time, for me,  since 2019. That was after breakfast at La Juciera. I don't like La Juciera. It was even worse today as much of the menu was 'not available', including my avocado toast, no toast. We went to Cheras to visit Wen's paternal aunt in Cheras but plans to go see her sister in Bangsar South were changed. As usual the TV was on showing news programmes from China, the same international stories interspersed with new year greetings from around the world. Of course all the family chat was in Chinese.. I nearly fell asleep as did #1 son. It was noisy and then was a long call to Fang in Taiwan. Just before we left the family 3 doors down set off about 5 minutes of firecrackers, so noisy, and the wee boy had a lion dance suit. But no photos as I'd left the phone at home. 

Home, I went to the pool for a couple of hours, hot, sunny and windy. Walked up to b263 for tonic but the alterations place was closed. There was hardly any traffic but the police, about 10 of them, had a check point, mainly stopping bikes.

Packed, ate, drank, watched Emma Thompson in a Netflix movie then bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.