KathyH58

By KathyH58

Pheasants and eagles

I stopped to fill the gas tank on the truck this morning, the first time in 2 weeks, then stopped at the grocery store for a few necessities before hitting the highway to go to the valley.

I drove around the Grand Pre area, hoping to spot the flock of snow buntings that has been around, but no luck seeing them. I did see this pheasant in a field, there were 2 of them. They spook easily and as soon as I stopped, they started running away. I was only able to get a couple of photos before they were too far away.

The eagles, in the extra, were a little more cooperative. As you are driving over the dyke, there is a pair of eagles that likes to sit on one power pole.

I then made a few stops to pick up some treats and a few ready made meals that I just have to take from the freezer and put in the oven for an hour. Makes a nice easy supper after working all day.

Next stop was Miners Marsh. They groomed the trail there this week, after the storm, so it was easier walking than it usually is at this time of year. I could hear lots of birds, but they were not coming out to get their photos taken. Possibly because 3 eagles were circling the marsh and calling to each other.

It was around 3:30 when I got home, and I was happy to see 2 of the pine warblers at the feeders. It's been 2 days since I seen them. They must be sleeping later in the mornings and coming to my feeder late morning to mid afternoon when I have been working.

Sunny breaks with some clouds today and a temperature of +7 C. And we have a special weather statement in effect for Tuesday into Wednesday of a nor'easter passing thru. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.