Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Mardi Gras

Lent begins tomorrow with An Wednesday, so today is Shrove or Fat Tuesday. I haven't made pancakes for a while so was delighted to see that my pancake tossing skills have not disappeared.
So far as I'm concerned the only kind of pancakes there are, are lemon and sugar! So that is what we had this evening.
At lunchtime today we went out to the Edinburgh Park at the Gyle. I'd heard good things of a restaurant and bakery there, called Patina. I didn't sample them this time, but the baked goods looked delicious. Colin had a dish of trout with new potatoes while I had a sub roll of chicken with truffle Aioli. It confirmed what I already thought. I definitely don't like truffles. We'll definitely be going back again though , there is a restaurant which is open in the evenings as well as the cafe and bakery
The area around the restaurant has a number of sculptures there, including a huge Paolozzi Vulcan figure.
We wandered back along the water, it's such an interesting place . Lovely on a warm sunny day like today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.