CrocusMan

By TonyG

Lucky Chance

Quite a few years ago I raised a pot of narcissus from my own seed, seed collected from a trumpet daffodil species.   As they grew I recognised that something odd had happened, the leaves were 'wrong' for the species, very wrong.  All was revealed when the first flowers appeared.  The grass like leaves were similar to the Hoop Petticoat, Narcissus bulbocodium and the flowers, four different ones from the four bulbs, were intermediate between the two species.  Hybrids.  Over the intervening years I have moved house, suffered ravages of Narcissus Fly whose grubs eat the bulbs from the inside, losing a few bulbs along the way.   I still have two forms, now grown separately and this one has four flowers this year.   A bit special.

It's been quite a nice day weatherwise, lots of sunshine but I just needed to get on with lots of admin.  Some of it could have waited a day or two but with things in the diary I knew I needed to get the devil off my shoulder by sorting a lot of stuff!   So various emails chasing up things not getting done at Ruth's, a phone call to DWP for Jamie and a couple of things I need doing booked in.  Some positive progress in a flurry of replies to one of the Ruth emails but it means I likely now have three trips across country in the next four weeks.

Meg and I had a walk along the river as the mist and cloud returned late afternoon and I did another hour glazing at pottery before an evening at home.   Ruth and I are now up to date with Pottery Throwdown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.