WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Hovering

Well, I took 83 photos of this hummingbird moth, and this is the least blurred of the lot. I don't think Combi31 needs to look to his laurels any time soon :) So darn difficult. The autofocus couldn't keep up, and manual focus would have been impossible. So I decided to decrease the aperture in order to have more DOF to play with, but then the shutter speed was too slow. Sigh. The lavender's nice though, isn't it?

Thanks to my new VPN, I was able to watch the BBC documentary about Vivian Maier this evening, having heard about it on Blipfoto. I knew little about her beyond what Kendall has mentioned here, so I found it fascinating. Seeing a lot of her photos together makes far more sense than just looking at a few: she was shooting every single day, recording her life in photos and yet never printing the vast majority; they were just moments she saw briefly through the viewfinder.

Her street photos really are amazing, and it's interesting that the twin-lens Rolleiflex she used meant she could be very discreet, holding the camera at waist level and not even making eye contact with her subjects -- a bit like using a modern digital camera or phone with no viewfinder. She'd probably have loved them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.