Do not cut the grass!

I've had a snotty letter from my Landlord's agent asking me to cut my grass!
NO!
This is the reason.
My 'wild flower meadow' that has a looked a picture with snowdrops, primroses and bluebells throughout the spring, now has a patch of Common Orchids in bloom.
Common? Elsewhere maybe, but this is the only location I know of locally. There are just five delicate stems with pale pink spikes of flowers with these intriguing patters in deep fuschia. Turn them upside down and some look like hearts, whereas others look like the drawings of Miffy the Rabbit (remember her?)

I mow a path through the 'wild meadow' to show that it is meant to look the way it does, but my landlord and lady don't get the waving grasses, herbs and wild flowers growing where there should be a sharply mown verdant lawn.
Tough titty Lord Landlord, you might like manicured lawns and topiary, I, conversely love cow parsley, encourage native British wild flowers and am delighted by the self seeding perennials that throw up new colour combinations.
We will have to agree to differ.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.