Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Bombus terrestris

I don't know what this bumble bee was doing out in the middle of winter, but I found her floating in some water. She appeared to be dead, but when I fished her out with a sprig of old parsley she clung to it with all her legs. I fetched some honey and gave it to her. She needed no second invitation. After a couple of minutes she buzzed her wings and toppled onto the ground, covering herself with dust. But she clambered back onto the parsley where the honey was and sipped some more. I just had time to blip her before she lifted off, still rather wet, and flew away.

I was so pleased at being able to rescue her. She belongs to a species of large bumble bees that were common in my garden until a couple of years ago, when it was invaded by hundreds of small bumble bees. The Bombus terrestris used to nest close to my greenhouse and did a great job of germinating my tomatoes. I hope she stays close by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.