KathyH58

By KathyH58

A wet day

I haven't seen much of the pine warblers this week, they must have been coming when I was not home. All 3 of them were around off and on today, mostly this afternoon, after the rain stopped.

Both of the northern flickers were here this morning, looking rather wet. The squirrel sat in the feeder most of the morning, and came back later this afternoon. I found out why the bird pie is disappearing so fast, and I cannot blame it on the starlings. One of the squirrels has discovered it. One of the squirrels was being a bit aggressive today. He was in the feeder and the northern flicker was at the suet. The squirrel hopped out of the feeder, ran towards the flicker, who, of course, flew off, then the squirrel turned around and hopped back into the feeder.

Since we had a rainfall warning and a flash freeze warning for today, I stayed home all day. This morning I swept the laundry room floor, as well as the steps going downstairs. I'm sure the roommate knew I was there doing something. Later in the morning he gets the broom and starts sweeping. I went to the top of the steps and told him I had already swept the floor and steps because I was tired of looking down and seeing all the dust. I told him it should be done once a week. I think it is time I made a list of things he should be doing and give it to him. And at the bottom I will add that I am not his mother, I shouldn't have to tell him when and what he should be doing.

They closed the malls and most activities were cancelled today because of the flash freeze warning. The buses were pulled off the roads at 1 pm. The roads have been down to bare pavement for several days, so the only problem areas would be areas that flood with every rain storm. Several years ago we had a really bad winter. Back to back storms, twice a week for a month. Snow, rain, flash freeze and repeat. I remember taking a video of the water running down the street where I was living and the street was full of slush because it had not been plowed. Then it froze, solid. The street was full of icy ruts. The cars were even frozen in place in the driveway. A was trying to get his car out, and had called a tow truck. When it showed up, it happened to be someone who knew A, so he hooked onto his car, pulled it out, then pulled mine out. He told A to call the office back and tell them a couple of young guys came along and were able to push his car out of the driveway, so he didn't charge anything. The flash freeze today was nothing compared to that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.