carliewired

By carliewired

75 F/ 24 C

A serenade in
morning sunshine is the best 
way to start the day 

~carliewired

I slept in until almost 8 when the sun lit up the walls of my house. I rolled over and  looked down the hall to see this bright warm glow. As soon as my eyes were open I focused on the melody in my backyard. The mockingbird was back and he was singing his little heart out. 

I grabbed my camera and a sweatshirt, shoved my feet into my slippers and went out the back door to sit in my chair. There he was up in my desert willow tree. 

Earlier in the season he would walk through my yard, flit in and out of the trees and prance along the top of the brick wall. He was silent then. Now,  he perched up high and piped out a continuous song of repeated melodies. He seems to want a vantage point and loves to sing to the sun. 

I followed him around the top of the desert willow, then over to a palm tree trunk. He has a delightful repertoire and barely pauses in it at all. This change in behaviour must indicate it's mating season. 

With my blip done, I have no reason to leave my house today.  I'll see how much energy I can muster. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.