Very Productive Day

This morning we zipped over to Gayle's condo so I could photograph six of her paintings. They are going up in a show Monday at the Colophon Cafe and she needed records of them in case one or more sold. They are cool paintings of the Fairhaven District in Bellingham so I think there is a good chance one or more will sell. Arvin came along so we could go shopping after I finished taking the pictures.

We headed to Lowe's to look for metal shelves. Since we are transforming the basement room into a sitting room, there is no longer space there for me to stack my paintings along the walls. So I needed a place to store them. Also, I wanted to streamline the area where I kept my canvases and other supplies. So we went to Lowe's and I bought two shelf units, a three foot wide one for my canvases and supplies, and a four foot wide one for my painting storage area. I also got some bungee cords to use as separators for sections of paintings or supplies. My brother Steve came over and helped me build and set them up. This is the supply shelves. I am so delighted how much I could fit in them. The shelves replaced a unit that I had gotten for free when I shared a studio at the Bay Street Village. It turned out to be very clumsy and inefficient for storage. I was delighted to replace it.

The second unit is up and ready for me to transport the paintings from downstairs. I do need a few more bungee cords and will get some in the near future. I also need a way to mark which paintings are where. But that won't be a problem. I am really pleased how much more efficiently I'll be using my studio space.

Steve came over for dinner and some games as well. He is working on a new print based on a wonderful photo he took when we were all up at the mountain a few days ago.

Today was a very good and useful day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.