Living my dream

By Mima

Poker

This is one of the last of the red hot pokers that Bean and I walk past on one of our regular walks. They haven't flowered in abundance, nor for very long this year. Victims of the dry weather maybe. The bees are making the most of the few blooms still there.

We have spent much of the day in town, catching up with friends. It included a very successful apricots-for-shower barter at the Blipping Macdubs. And a bonus lunch there too.

Barry the plumber has let me know he'll be here first thing on Wednesday morning. Hopefully it means I'll have just one more day hauling water carriers up from the drive. 

And I'll be able to give the roots and beans raised beds a proper soak. I watered them today using a bucket out of the tanks which capture rain from the roof of the truck, which was more toing and froing than ideal.

I have seen the long range weather forecast for March. If we are lucky we'll get 10mm rain. The dry continues. Many local paddocks are grassless now and in windy conditions dust is everywhere. 

I am fortunate to have the 25,000 litre tank full of water and I can keep the important parts of the property damp. As well as Bean and me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.