Living my dream

By Mima

Lurking

Bean made it pretty clear today what she thought of the blasting southwesterly bringing icy air from Antarctica. There was a horrible wind chill and I was in winter layers when we had our (brisk) walk at lunchtime.

Despite the cold, the watering still needed to be done, and when I was plugging in the hose to soak the squashes bed I spotted some beauties lurking in the undergrowth (see the extra). A bit more investigation revealed a really good crop developing under the foliage. In due course I should be able to store enough squashes to easily see me through until spring. 

That is unless we get hit by frost tonight, of which there is a slim chance: the final sting in the tail of the Antarctic weather as it slips away eastwards.

Much of the day has been indoors out of the wind. I had various bits and pieces of computer admin to catch up with, as well as processing yet more produce. 

Today it is the turn of the latest pick of tomatoes (they are a triumph this year) which are currently bubbling on the stove, part way to making Tomato Kasundi: a Bengali sauce which is an essential condiment in Mima's Diner. The recipe is available for anybody who wants it.

Although it hasn't slowed me down much in the kitchen, I am fed up with dealing with container water on day four of the pump not working, and I am crossing everything that Barry can sort it out in the morning.

Bean is getting extra cuddles today. 3 years ago my beautiful Sana-banana-dog died. Some of her spirit lives on in Bean, for which I am thankful everyday. I can't imagine a happy life without her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.