Photogen

By Photogen

The Graduates

Today I was privileged to participate in a graduation ceremony in my university. After 300 or so degrees had been conferred in a packed hall, everyone made their way to a reception when the joy of the new graduates was palpable. This was also the last time they would be together with their classmates before setting out on the next stage of their lives. Group photos were being taken left, right and centre.

I wanted to capture something of the excitement in the air. I took a side view of this happy quartet and stylised the photo by 'pinching' the central part. This made the beautiful blue hood look more 'flyaway' and brought their faces closer together. I wanted the picture to be not just about these four lovely girls, but about the tens thousands of young people everywhere who have succeeded in their studies, and hopefully will be part of a better future for us all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.