Photogen

By Photogen

Pollen Hunt

With the forecast not looking so good for today I was out early surveying the garden for a possible photo. Years ago I bought three perennial plants that I've split up many times and replanted in various borders, but I've forgotten what they're called. They grow about 6-7 feet high and throw up tall spikes of purplish-blue helmet-shaped flowers which the bees love. From a Google search of perennial images they might be a genus of aconitum. (Soletrader has confirmed they are and the common name is monkshood.)

I caught this bee as it backed out of the flower. Sometimes bees sense your presence and literally buzz off very quickly. However this wee fellow visited many flowers and stayed long enough for me to home in on the bloom he was visiting and press the shutter milliseconds after his rear end appeared. The shutter speed of 1/2000th ensured the bee was sharp.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.