michigan man

By outdoorguy

A Nest in the Tree

Judging from years past, I thought there might be a few night heron's nests in a certain parking lot, although I have not stopped by this season. Because of where they construct and the lack of sunlight, it is real hard to get a decent picture.

This morning, I had one in the sunlight for about 3 minutes, so I snapped away. He/she gave me the eye (isn't the eye marvelous?), so I snapped away.

I put 4 pictures into my Extras.
1. A pelican at sunrise.
2. A juvenile out of the nest. I was surprised at how young it looked.
3. A couple in the nest. After minutes of cooing and wooing, I did get to see "the act", or at least I saw the one on top.
4. The hackles. With at least 3 nests that I could see, this guy didn't like someone "in his area", so the feathers on his back quickly went up.

So, with all of the attention that I gave the birds, how did they repay me? I was underneath one of them when I felt the splat. The splat covered half of my camera back along with a few spots on the back of my shirt. Luckily, it missed my hatless head. Funny, but not funny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.