Tommy Jnr.?

Many of you will be familiar with Tommy the friendly little Coal Tit who has been around since late last Summer.

I think it was the cold wet Winter that put me of standing outside with sunflower seeds in my hand waiting for Tommy to come and feed. However, the feeder attached to the window was still filled and Tommy was never far away. If he found the feeder empty he would strand on top of it and and look in waiting for us to open the window and give him a seed. As Spring approached we saw less of him and when he was about he seemed more nervous and reluctant to take food from a hand. In the last month he has appeared thinner and even more nervous. Then yesterday he turned up at the feeders with a single little chick. The half coconuts were the centre of attention as he pecked away furiously to break off pieces to feed to the chick.

Today there were 3 chicks flitting back and forth between the trees and feeders while Tommy and his mate tried to satisfy their hunger pangs. When I approached them to put out more food, they flew of with the exception of Tommy and the chick who I think was the one who was there yesterday. I found I could stand right next to this little chick who wasn't perturbed by my presence. It was time to get a camera and capture the moment. The little compact was to hand and this shot was taken on a macro setting no more than a foot from the chick. I couldn't help wondering if the chick was going to turn out to be another tame Tommy, just like his father ( or should that be mother as I have never been able to work out whether Tommy is male or female!)

There was a strange looking visitor in the garden today - a bald Great Tit. It looked like a sad wee vulture as it sat on the feeder. Having searched Google it would appear it either has mites or is suffering from the stress of the breeding season - neither of which helps explain why I am folically challenged!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.