Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Norman Cook aka Fatboy Slim

Loads to photograph and talk about today including the very glamorous Iggy Azelea and of course The Stones.

I chose Norman because Sally and I chatted to him in the afternoon and I learned a lot about DJ's.

I was always confused by the term 'DJ having a gig' as I thought just musicians had gigs.Norman's performances are a far more postmodern enterprise, mixing snippets and phrases from sampled music according to the vibe. Anyway he was at the Beat Hotel this afternoon. One of several surprise gigs. He talked to us about how that now he doesn't do drugs, he gets a strange high off performing to kids who possibly do.

I think it's simpler than that. Any form of expression that makes you happy and delights others, makes you high.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.