HeidiHH

By HeidiHH

Life on crutches day 1

Adjusting to this new lifestyle.

I'm always doing something and running around and being active, so this is a huge change for me.

I've learned to use the crutches. But taking things anywhere is an ordeal.



So I found a serving table with wheels and a saddle chair online at our local furniture store. Reserved those and sent my husband to pick them up. It's still not easy, but it helps.



The saddle chair helps me make food, water plants and stuff like that. With the service table I can move the coffee and food to the table ect.



I started to make a jigsaw to keep me occupied.



I did a strength workout which I normally do standing up, but now sitting down. I also tried a cardio chair workout (very short one), but I'm not sure how much I can move my leg. I know I can't put any weight on it. So I tested one short one, and ı will try to find out how much I can move it. If I take another appointment with the orthopedist it will cost me 150€, so I'd rather not. The physiotherapist will call me on Wednesday, so I guess I can ask him too. At the moment I'm "in between doctors". The public side has transferred me to the central hospital. Only 2 months until that day. I need to see another orthopedist in about 5 weeks, and that will cost about 250€, so... I'm left to my own devices.



6 weeks feels like a lifetime right now. I do know it's not.



My knee is hurting a lot, but I can feel how it helps to keep the weight off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.