There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

One Last Frozen Bubble Adventure / My Blue Heaven

We had a warm week earlier in March, where my husband and I got out for a backpacking adventure in the Moshannon State Forest. Then the temperatures took a dip. We've had some cold nights since then. With the forecast calling for temperatures in the mid-20s in the morning, I got my frozen bubble stuff ready. 

I already had a mix I was working with that had two kinds of dish detergent and water and corn syrup. I added more dish detergent, more water, tried blowing bubbles in the sink. Suddenly, bubbles everywhere! Okay to go!

I took along some cut daffodils, in two sizes: some regular size, one tiny daffodil. I had a glass container I was going to put the tiny daff into. And I took along a metal bendy toy with colorful beads, which surprised me by becoming the absolute STAR of my show! I spent about a half-hour outside in beautiful sunshine; as often happens when I do this activity in temps in the mid-20s or above, none of my bubbles actually completely froze.

Above you may see one of my favorite photos from what I suspect is my last frozen bubble adventure of the winter season. I was very pleased with the results. The metal toy became a sort of frozen bubble basket; I could even pick it up and MOVE it into better light once I had blown my bubbles into it. (On the other hand, the small glass container with the tiny daff inside got instantly messy and smudgy and obscured and was an absolute bust.) So that was the frozen bubble part of my story.

Later in the day, as things warmed up, my husband and I drove over to Port Matilda for hoagies at the Lykens Market. We had planned to walk in the nearby Soaring Eagle Wetlands, but when we saw a half-dozen vehicles already there, we changed our plans.

Instead, we drove to the Galen and Nancy Dreibelbis Viewing Area, which I sometimes call the Julian Wetlands or the Miles Hollow Wetlands (after the road that it's on). It's less than a mile from the Soaring Eagle Wetlands, and on the other side of the road.

We walked around, and went to the furthest point we could in each direction. We stood on a little observation deck. We saw birds, including a great blue heron and some red-winged blackbird. In the extras is the vision of gold and blue that the marsh was on this day. It was glorious!

I have two images, so here are two soundtrack songs. For my last frozen bubble adventure, here is Marc Cohn, with Saving the Best for Last. And for my photo of the blue and gold heaven that was the marsh on this sunny afternoon, here is the first dance scene from the Steve Martin film, My Blue Heaven.

P.S. As always, here is a link to my canonical list of frozen bubble tips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.