A Sussex Lad

Oh what can ail thee, knight-at-arms,
Alone and palely loitering?


(from la Belle Dame Sans Merci - Keats)

My wonderful Dad passed away peacefully this morning, aged 92.

I woke up up with the lines above in my head and when I sat with him they seemed to fit somehow. He was noble, gentle and true and an inspiration to all who met him.

He was a true Sussex lad, born and bred in Hastings. A place which has played a huge part in my life too, and not far from us, so it seemed fitting to go there this afternoon, walk on the beach and round the Old Town and think of him. Hence the picture.

No poems of my own today, the words won't come. Look at the last two days blips for my words. I am filled up with sadness, but joy too at everything he brought to all our lives, so I will give you his words.... from a story poem he wrote for me when I was a child.

This is the tale of Jumping Jan
Who one day made a gingerbread man.
But instead of using it to eat,
(she usually started with the feet),
She thought she would take it up to bed
And make a friend of it instead.
She dressed it in a nightie yellow,
And laid it gently on the pillow.
Hopped in beside and went to sleep,
Without saying prayers, without a peep.
Dreamed of the fun she would have next day,
When with Gingerbread Jack she went to play.
Dreamed of him dressed in clothes so neat,
And how Twink* would like to nibble his feet.
But when she was wakened next morning by Mums,
Gingerbread Jack had changed,
O crumbs!


(* Twink was our dog)


Thank you so much for all the kind comments, you are all so lovely. I will get around to replying in time.....I promise

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.