Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Cuttings and clippings

No rain, no wind, no sun, no snow, no hail - that reminds me of a poem! - just an average day really. Catching up with Photo Club and u3a stuff in the morning;  just for a moment the sun almost came out and we thought we might be able to sit out, but it was just kidding!
 
Did a bit of tidying in the garden after lunch. I have a lovely clump of my favourite red hot poker, Kniphofia rooperi, which has always done well in the drive bed, but being evergreen, over the winter it got almost flattened by the east wind. At first I thought I might be able to sort it out, but eventually decided to cut it to the ground and let it start again. I might have to move it to somewhere more sheltered, but that’s not easy as so many of the surrounding trees and shrubs are being cut down.
 
I also had to cut down one of my young plants of Buddleja loricata which had been knocked over by the same wind. I was given this as cuttings, but wrongly named Buddleja nappii, which is from South America - this one is from South Africa and apparently quite hardy. I took a load of cuttings from it which when rooted I shall probably give away!
 
My Blip today is of a beautiful narcissus, an American-raised jonquil hybrid by the name of ‘Kedron’. It’s a lovely cultivar, about 12-18”high with a light fragrance. Gorgeous.
 
Quote of the Day: ’The best time to take cuttings is when no one is looking.’ - Bob Flowerdew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.