Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Pots and poetry

Spent most of the morning getting ready to go away tomorrow. I print out a list of everything I need to take and tick them off as they are put in the suitcase; in spite of this I usually forget something! I'm off to London tomorrow morning to spend a few days with my sister in Hampton, and will no doubt have a couple of days up in London, alone with my camera and 9 million other people!

This afternoon was the April meeting of the u3a Poetry Group. The subject was 'City Life' and my suggestion was Wordsworth's 'Composed on Westminster Bridge'. Unfortunately I wasn't the only one to choose this one, though I did add a parody of the poem by Beverley Nichols.

I was planning to photograph some large species rhododendrons in a garden at the end of our road for my Blip today, but at the moment I was to be dropped off at the end of the road by the friend who'd given me a lift to the Poetry Group it began to rain. She kindly offered to run me right home and I didn't have time to say no! So today's Blip is of the potted bulbs on a seat opposite the front door!

Random Quote of the Day: 'Money can't buy you friends, but you get a better class of enemy.' - Spike Milligan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.