Hay Making

The hay was cut yesterday morning and it's proof that they don't want to waste a blade of grass. It's already been turned three times, which is quite extraordinary. The first turn came in the evening yesterday and twice already today. Farmers have had such a rough time over the past couple of years that they can't afford not to have this baled up before it rains. It's not too late to get another cut later in the year.

I had a quick word with the estate manager this morning. The Farmhouse is still being done up and it's not known who the new tenants may be or if the field will be rented with the house. The good news is that he has agreed, in principle, that I can have the bit of garden that was denied to me by the previous tenant farmer. When it was suggested that he had left it in an abandoned state for 20 years and I should have it, his only word on the subject was 'Never!'.

It will be a job to clear the years of nettles and dumping but it does come complete with the pear tree and an apple. It also comes with the other entrance to the badger summer set that runs under the house. We had to dissuade it from using the entrance under my sitting room as there were a couple of close encounters with my dog, I don't think Maera would have won. I'll have to nip round an see if it's in use.

Blip done I'm back off out into the garden. What a beautiful day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.