Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Burnished Brass Moth

Attracted by the light of the porch this Burnished Brass moth, Diachrysia chrysitis juncta, was a must to keep for a blip. They are stunning moths with gold banded wings that fly at night.

They are quite common across the UK. Their bright green, hairy caterpillars have white markings and you'll find then in September and April, feeding mostly on nettles although they also like burdock and spear thistles.

We managed to catch and shear another couple of sheep this morning. Four 'uncatchables' left to do next weekend. In the meantime I've got to get out into the wilderness that my garden has become. My humour hasn't been of the best as the wind still has no intention of stopping and it's been raining off and on all day. Although the sun has shown itself a little bit, I'm still considering the booking a one way ticket out of the UK! I'll get over it. :)

An early night will do me good. Traffic won't disturb me as there is a football final to keep the population off the roads.







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.