Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Shearing Sheep

The first glimpse you get of my face is when my hair is tussled and I'm far from made up for the camera. Lady Duckwee took this photo as I was shearing the largest ram ever! You will have to take my word for that as you can only see the electric shears running over his belly.

I'm not a pro and haven't the strength to hold them to shear at the best of times so, Jim holds on tight whilst I play hairdresser. The sheep end up looking as though they should be in a "You should have gone to SpecSavers" ad but they're done and safe from fly strike.

Rambo, the ram who is trying to help me, was a pet lamb. Now three years old, we don't see him very often now, other than to medicate, shear or trim hooves. The other sheep now associate me with nasties and run, but Rambo still remembers me as mum and wants to be close by. That's a bonus. Sheep are mind readers, will happily come to eat from your hands until the moment you think to catch them... then you haven't got a hope in hell.

Early blip today as I have full house again and was waiting for Lady D to call me. She was saying a last goodbye to her boyfriend and my shoulder was ready for TLC action. She called just called to say they are back in paradise. Oh, how I don't miss being a teenager!

I hope to get some time to comment later... excuse me if I don't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.