Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

part of my host....

So glad to have a dry day today to allow some of the puddles in the garden to dry up a bit.
I went over to Ali's this morning to stay with Bonnie while she went to the tip. They've been doing some garden work and laying some slabs in front of their extension to try to repair the ground after the building work last year. They've done a really good job over the last couple of days (despite the weather) with some old slabs from their garden and some of ours. It's going to look much better once they get some turf in and the flower beds finished. (extra)
I came home and C and I got stuck into some phone calls. Being church treasurer is a lot of work at times. Today's joy was to do with water rates. As a charity we're entitled to exemption, and always have been, but we have to reapply every single year. There's nearly always an issue with the website and he ends up having to phone which means hanging on and waiting. The application is made to one company who then pass it to Scottish Water for approval which can take up to 12 weeks. I can't help thinking that it would be more sensible and a better user of time once you've been approved, to have to reapply every(say) three years or if there is a change..., but then who am I to judge.
I had a long chat with my sister in law, who is making some headway in winding up mother in law's estate. The house will be valued next week ready for the accounts and putting on the market. Hopefully it will sell well as it is in very good condition and in a lovely setting.
Today blip is some of our host of golden(and white) daffodils which have survived the heavy rain. Let's hope Storm Kathleen doesn't damage them too much. Kathleen was mum in law's official name, she was known as Carol. I think she'd be amused to be blowing up as a storm.
Still no sign of my new Narcissus blushing lady or Trepolo, fingers crossed they're on their way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.