An Apple a Day...

By anappleaday

Oh. Dear. God.

Well, today (beginning in the middle of the night some time) was the worst day of our young new-parenting lives. I was completely startled awake in the dark to the sound of Mr. Apple being violently ill on the floor of our guest room where we are staying in our friends' home. He an I somehow spent about an hour on hands and knees cleaning up the mess while trying not to wake our sleeping baby in the room or the rest of the entire household.

After a few more hours sleep we woke to find that he was really very, very ill. A few quick texts to our now-disowned-friends-in-Brooklyn confirmed the bug had come from that foul city. From what they told us, we knew it was likely to pass quickly from Mr. Apple to me to anyone else we came in contact with. I started praying HARD that BabyApple would not get this illness.

So, today, we faced a LONG and difficult 8 hour drive from our friends' house in PA to my mom's house in VA. I drove the whole way, Mr. Apple sat sick as a dog in the passenger seat, and BabyApple bravely toughed out her longest car ride ever. We had to stop at rest stops to feed her and then get back on the road as quickly as possible. It was really terrible. It wasn't until after we got to my mom's house that I realized I neglected to even think about changing her diaper all day. Poor thing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.