WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Bracing

The wind off the Pyrenees has thoroughly got up now. This morning it was lovely and sunny, so I went off to the market, not bothering with a jacket. Fifteen minutes later, in Lézignan, it was windy, overcast, with the occasional flurry of windblown rain. I regretted my choice, but at least I had a scarf in my bag.

So In the circumstances it was a quick whiz round the market. Some of the regular stallholders weren't there, and it wasn't at all busy, so I quickly stocked up on fresh fruit and veg. I'd only had a cup of coffee for breakfast so I stopped at the baker's on the way back to the car. There were no croissants left in the display case, but I timed my visit right, as the baker emerged with a fresh tray from the oven just as I reached the counter. Lovely -- I enjoyed it with more coffee when I got home.

Walk in the afternoon, blasted by the wind. The light was nice though. A panorama of spring vines (note: no pylon in the photo, but there is a little hint of one that I chose to leave in). And in the extra, a tiny butterfly: Google Lens says it's a Southern Grizzled Skipper (pyrgus malvoides), a new one for me.

I finished the last few pages of North Woods -- I absolutely loved it. I chose it for the book group without having read it, so I'm pleased I made the right decision.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.