Come into the Garden

By aprecious

Monster

I am keeping my beady eye out for the conservatory monster. This is a monster of considerable proportions: flashing eyes, waving tail, jumping up, big teeth, and much gnashing.

I need to be alert.

aprecious says, "Maud you are looking in the wrong place."

This surprises me. Since I was a little puppy and spilt my water over some litter in this very spot and made the whole place look like the battle of the Somme I have had to keep an eye out for the monster.

aprecious says, "Maud that is not where the monster is."

Time after time I have jumped up and down on the spot, seeking out the conservatory monster. I have to give a little shout whenever I run past after my evening constitutional.

That there is no monster there, is very big news.

I look half sideways at her... and ask, "Where is it then?"

She looks right back at me and aprecious says, "Maud, I am looking at it."

I walked right into that one.

She jests of course. She jests.

This is born out of a comment I made the other day on LadyM and possibly boldsans' journals about a time when I taught naughty boys. (If you are easily offended, look away now.)

One such boy, lets call him Harold, made my life hell. But one day, I got my revenge.
Now, any of you who have been to a comprehensive school or know anything about such schools, particularly those that have been left to ruin, will know that every single chair in such places has a willy drawn on it. I make no comment on boys' needs to do this, but it is so...

The conversation went like this:
Harold: There is a prick on this chair, miss.
Me: Yes, Harold, there is.

As a 22 year old straight out of college run ragged by boys chanting football songs and generally behaving badly, this amounted to a moment of triumph.

Another lad - who wrote stories about machetes and the Chelsea headhunters, and who was very hard work, once hooked a chair on some metal supports that held up the roof so that it dangled mid air as if suspended, "Look Miss," he said, "We have a poltergeist."

I never laughed. He wasn't the laughing kind.

I wonder what happened to these boys who will now be men of almost 40!

But at the very least they prepared me for life with Maud!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.