flavia13

By flavia13

CHURCH IN THE WILDWOOD

Song by Dolly Parton


In reality it's All Saints Church in Orton, Cumbria.

It was quite bright when I woke up this morning, yeah.  Sadly by 9.00 am it was grey again, but it WAS NOT RAINING - yeah to that.

Hubby was having a work morning down at Kents Bank Station and I've been feeling a bit down this week.  Just fed up with all the rain I think.  Now that is weird 'cos I don't usually worry about that at all, I'm more likely to get down when it's hot as it makes me ill.  However we have had much more rain that usual, or so it feels anyway.

I decided I'm off out on my own.  Didn't want to drive too far and I thought I haven't been to Orton for absolutely ages.  I was inspired to go there partly due to Mrs Gladders Mindfulnes training and also partly due to fellow Blipper ITTH and his amazing Wellness Walks.  I needed to get out and about for my Mental Health.

So I jump into the car and by just after 10.00 am I was parked outside the Kennedy's, the chocolate shop, cafe and factory.  This used to be a village school and was derelict until brother and sister, David and Alison Kennedy took it on to expand their chocolate making business.  

Lo and behold their small coffee shop is now open again - wow I didn't know that.  Apparently it only opens Monday to Friday.  So I popped in just for coffee and a piece of fruit cake with Wensleydale.  They also gave me a small dark chocolate egg to eat with the Cappuccino!!!

Now in some ways Orton Scar Cafe is better but I like to support both businesses so today it was Kennedy's and it would be rude to come away without purchasing some of their amazing home-made chocolates now wouldn't it!!! I only bought about 6 in already packed up to share with hubby, just one a day for 3 days should see us through!!

Then I had a wander around the village and then on to the church.  I took a few photos in there, although I have photographed it many times before it was still nice to visit again.  As I came out I met a lady with the tiniest really pretty little dog.  So we had a little chat.  Now that's one of the things I love about Orton, it's always reasonably quiet and anyone I meet are usually locals and they are always so friendly.  I've never met one yet that didn't at least say hello.

I can't tell you the streets I walked around but I followed one of the becks, which was quite high today.  Gave a vague wave to ITTH and Missy who are from Orton.  

Met another lady as I was taking some photos of the view and a derelict tractor and she gave me a wave and said hello.  Then as I was almost back to the car I saw this lady and her two dogs on a little tractor (see extras) so I lifted my camera and she laughed, then looked at me, smiled and stopped the tractor so I could take a photo - how lovely was that!!!! Now it's not the best photo as I didn't have time to adjust the settings and I didn't want to hold up the car coming along or her - but it was so nice and she was chuckling away as she left!!!

I have a walk in mind that even I could do, just a 4 mile circular walk around the village, on a nice day.  Now 4 miles is my limit but I think I would like to try it, when we get a nice day and when Hubby can free himself from either, the garden, the allotment, Kents Bank Station or his shed!!!  G will be arriving on Monday (trains permitting) but he can't walk far so I can't take him.  Mind you he'd like a visit to the chocolate factory and cafe and maybe then onto Appleby where I haven't been for a few years!!!

That has boosted me up, just a little. So I must go out more again.  Well it's mostly been the awful weather that's kept me in.  So now I have photos to edit.  None that comply with any of the projects I have on the go right now but it's all good practice.  I also notice that either my lens or sensor or both need a good clean so I will be trying to do that this weekend.

Whilst I out I did very briefly get a glimpse of blue sky for about 5 seconds and it was so grey, but at least it didn't rain and I didn't get wet so that has to be a positive doesn't it!!

Do take care and stay safe Blip friends and I will see you all tomorrow.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.