Lala's Journal

By Lala

Dog

At the seafront this morning, no longer allowed on the beach unless we go further down. 

I took a day’s leave today, and invited Lee to go out to lunch. She’s a strange character and not someone I would usually be friends with, but we are both in the same boat, and I knew she was ‘celebrating’ her first birthday without her husband. Her sons both live a long way away, and knowing how hard my first one was all alone, I thought it was a nice thing today.

Several times over the years I asked B if I could paint the shed a colour. He always refused, thought sheds should be brown! For over a year I’ve done the back and forth thing of ‘he would say no’ and ‘but he’s not here now’ in my head, and today the sea grass won. I bought a tin and once home started painting. I realised quite quickly I had grossly underestimated the amount of paint I would need, so the first coat is three quarters finished and another, larger tin ordered from Amazon (cheaper than my local shop). Hoping it will be enough, because I can also see that two coats probably won’t be enough. 
Proud of myself for making the decision, and also battling the ‘can’t be bothered’ and cracking on with the job. 
I finished the evening with an uplifting 30 minutes watching The Assembly Room with the fabulous Michael Sheen. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.